Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: (Answered) Scroll to region/point/area inside a dynamic panel OnClick

  1. #1
    Axure Marketing
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 520 Times in 285 Posts


    My Twitter My LinkedIn

    (Answered) Scroll to region/point/area inside a dynamic panel OnClick

    Scrolling to an image map region works fine on a single page, but what about within a state of a panel? If you scroll to the bottom of a panel and click a button, how do I get it to scroll back to the top of that panel? I can't seem to get it to work like that at all....If I could figure that out, I'd be on the gravy train.
    Scroll to image map region doesn't work for scrolling dynamic panels, but the workaround is creating a hidden text field and using the action "Set focus on text field".

    Check out this video for detail
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul For This Useful Post:

    ccollingridge (09-30-2013), Shiraluk (05-07-2014)

  3. #2
    Newbie Level
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Thank you this is so useful - I was looking for it.

  4. #3
    Axure Marketing
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 520 Times in 285 Posts


    My Twitter My LinkedIn
    Great! Thanks for the feedback.

  5. #4
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts


    This worked for me as well. I was trying to navigate to a top or bottom part of a form. Used an image map on top of the dynamic panel to Set Focus. Worked like a charm.

  6. #5
    in5
    in5 is offline
    Newbie Level
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Chicago, il
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    My Twitter

    thanks.

    thanks this was helpful. although the only way to hide it is to put it behind another widget huh?

  7. #6
    Newbie Level
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    My Twitter My LinkedIn
    This is great, thanks so much. And you can put the clickable item within the panel you want to scroll.

    One challenge I have found is that it won't, at the time of writing, execute if you have placed actions before it in the Case for the onClick event (It does execute if you place them afterwards).

    Thanks again though Paul!

  8. #7
    Newbie Level
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by Paul View Post
    Scroll to image map region doesn't work for scrolling dynamic panels, but the workaround is creating a hidden text field and using the action "Set focus on text field".

    Check out this video for detail
    Thanks a lot !

  9. #8
    Sifu
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,074
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 292 Times in 224 Posts


    My Twitter My LinkedIn
    This workaround appears to be unnecessary these days. You can use the "scroll to" in v7 to scroll a panel to a particular image.

    Jeff
    Jeff Harrison
    Axure Trainer at Evantage Consulting
    Twitter: MrJeffHarrison

  10. #9
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    My Twitter
    Are there any plans to allow for scrolling to anchor widgets within dynamic panels? I'm still using the hidden text field workaround in Axure 7.0.

  11. #10
    Axure Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 496 Times in 399 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by ejdavis View Post
    Are there any plans to allow for scrolling to anchor widgets within dynamic panels? I'm still using the hidden text field workaround in Axure 7.0.
    You should be able to scroll to any Widget in Axure 7.0. Here are a couple examples scrolling to Hot Spot.

    Hot Spot | Axure
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZjfzI9Yxrs

  12. #11
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts


    In Axure 7 it works with vertical scrolling within a dynamic panel, for horizontal scrolling the method with setting focus to a text fields seems still the way to go. You really need to hide them behind something, making them hidden with the checkbox hidden does not work. [murmurs something about metro style apps...]

  13. #12
    Axure Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 496 Times in 399 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by roelvossen View Post
    In Axure 7 it works with vertical scrolling within a dynamic panel, for horizontal scrolling the method with setting focus to a text fields seems still the way to go. You really need to hide them behind something, making them hidden with the checkbox hidden does not work. [murmurs something about metro style apps...]
    Scrolling horizontally definitely should work. There is a radio group in the Scroll to Widget Action to determine if you want to allow vertical, horizontal or both types of scrolling. Do you have any scrollbars shown on the Dynamic Panel? If you post or send your file to support at axure dot com we should be able to figure out what is going on.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Ian Gardner For This Useful Post:

    roelvossen (10-12-2014)

  15. #13
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts


    Hi Ian, guessed I missed the radio buttons. Thanks.

  16. #14
    Axure Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 496 Times in 399 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by roelvossen View Post
    Hi Ian, guessed I missed the radio buttons. Thanks.
    No worries, it might be a little funny that it defaults to "Scroll vertically only" especially when you actually do want horizontal scroll. Really, I think the vast majority of the time it just doesn't matter, because scroll vertical only and scroll both will be the same as it is much more likely to have only vertical scrollbars, but we will check it out to see if there is something that we can make clearer here.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-31-2014, 03:53 AM
  2. Scroll To Image Map Region -- that's inside of a master
    By mattinteractive in forum 6.x Feature Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-25-2013, 04:59 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 09:42 PM
  4. Dynamic panel inside another dynamic panel is not shown in full size
    By andreas999 in forum 6.x General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 03:27 AM
  5. Scroll Dynamic Widget to Defined Point
    By Peter in forum 6.x General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 09:48 PM

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2