Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Natural Language Forms

  1. #1
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post


    Natural Language Forms

    Hi all,

    Just wondering if anyone has successfully designed/built a natural language form within Axure?

    e.g. UI Pattern: Natural Language Form | Jürgen Röhm · Interaction Designer

    I'm starting to build an advanced one in Axure, but before I do, it would be good to see some examples.

    Any input is welcome!

    Thanks

    Jase

  2. #2
    Sifu
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Chicago, IL, U.S.
    Posts
    1,828
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 477 Times in 443 Posts


    The easiest way is to just place some widgets with text around some text inputs with the borders turned off. Then just align them so everything looks right. That's it!

    Anything else, like putting a dotted line below the input or whatever is just window dressing.
    Nathan K.

  3. #3
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post


    Quote Originally Posted by nkrisc View Post
    The easiest way is to just place some widgets with text around some text inputs with the borders turned off. Then just align them so everything looks right. That's it!

    Anything else, like putting a dotted line below the input or whatever is just window dressing.

    @nkrisc It's not quite as simple as that as all of the content within the inputs, drop lists etc are all going to be different widths and the rest of the paragraph will need to move to wrap cleanly around the selection. If we use the above implementation, which is obviously the easiest, we will either have white space to the right of the selection or it will overrun the space given. The whole paragraph needs to be dynamic to allow selections of all different widths.

    This is why I'm looking to see how/if anyone has been able to successfully implement a perfect example.
    Last edited by EmceeJase; 06-21-2016 at 07:10 AM. Reason: Quote Original

  4. #4
    Sifu
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Chicago, IL, U.S.
    Posts
    1,828
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 477 Times in 443 Posts


    That sounds like it would be extremely difficult in Axure. I'm going to keep an eye on this thread because if anyone has managed that I'd love to see how they accomplished it.
    Nathan K.

  5. #5
    Apprentice Level
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post


    I've been working through a variety of options to be able achieve a dynamic Natural Language Form. Using/manipulating a repeater seems to be working for me. It's not perfect, i'm still in the process of really refining it, but it's pretty close to what I wanted to achieve.

    Axure - Natural Language Form Prototype

    Feedback welcome....

    Cheers

    Jase

Similar Threads

  1. Math Question: Is there a natural log (ln) function?
    By jwarzy72 in forum Advanced Prototyping
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2015, 07:15 PM
  2. Spell checking language
    By Seemann in forum 6.x Archived Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2014, 08:21 AM
  3. Multi Language prototype
    By awagon in forum Advanced Prototyping
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2014, 06:57 AM
  4. Right to left language support
    By Mishaniya in forum 7.0 Newbie Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 08:48 AM
  5. Specification Language
    By jeremie in forum 6.x Archived Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2012, 07:59 AM

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2